The power of introverts

After watching Susan Cain’s video “The power of introverts”, the last three points she mentioned made me think. But let me set the scene.

I myself am an ambivert, as Susan Cain calls it. Taking the Myers-Briggs test I scored an ESTP, where E stands for extrovert. But for me that is not a clear case, I’m right on the border between introversion and extroversion. While I enjoy social situations and I do have an ability to be somewhat of a social cameleon – I can fit in and adopt mannerisms of individuals and groups very quickly – I like my moments of solitude, reflection and just doing things by myself.

We moved from North Vancouver to the Sunshine Coast of BC a year and a half ago now and I now no longer enjoy the hustle and bustle of the city. I can’t stand the noise, the traffic and the manic energy. I do identify with the introverts to some extent.

So, coming back to Susan Cain, these are the three pointers she provides:

  1. Stop the madness for constant group work

As I reflect on the two courses I’m designing right now I’m realizing that they involve a lot of group work. That being said though, it is not the type of group work where everything has to happen in a group setting, it is more the type where everyone takes a section and then goes away and creates their little part of the whole. I hope that it serves the introverts and the extroverts equally that way.

  1. Go to the wilderness, unplug and get into your own heads

I am a strong believer of the power of nature, the outdoors and traveling to gain perspective, peace and a separation from busy, every-day life.

  1. Take a look at what’s in your suitcase and share it with the world, because the world needs you.

This is an appeal to the true introverts to share their genius with the world, as those that have a lot of time to think will come up with more ideas. I can think of Stephen Hawking, who, unable to move, has a lot of time to think – and look at what he has produced. We should all try to harness the power of solitude and reflection more often.

Leave a Reply

