The flipped classroom

This week I learned what the term “flipped classroom” actually means. I always thought it was about the student becoming the teacher, but it is in fact quite different. Here is a video  of what it is.

It is where lectures are pre-recorded and the students actually watch it online and class time is spent on comprehension exercises. This enables more one-on-one time with instructors and the ability for students to help each other understand.

I am quite inspired by this technique and my mind is racing. I was of course aware of the Khan Academy, but I had always thought that it would be better used in the sciences, rather than the arts. Now that I think about it, it can be used in most settings. It has always irked me to be using my classroom time so inefficiently by me talking away up front while the students just sit there and watch (I try to be more interesting than that, but you get the idea). I already refuse to show videos in class or have them do reading, but I can now take it further. So I am going to try it out on a few lectures. I’m looking forward to it.

Leave a Reply

